Productions temenos
productions temenos




  en français

Our name

The name temenos is taken from a Greek word meaning the sacred space surrounding a temple or an altar.

Carl Jung used this same word to refer to the inner space deep within us where soul-making takes place. Click here to read more about it

 

Company Mandate

temenos exists to cultivate excellence and virtuosity in all aspects of its theatrical activity in Quebec, Canada and beyond, through an emphasis on ensemble work; a commitment to train and develop dedicated theatre artists; and the development, creation, adaptation and production of distinct, contemporary and culturally inclusive works.

 

Mission

To develop, produce and present compelling live performances which resonate with contemporary preoccupations, and to develop, support and challenge performers and other creative theatre artists.

 

Artistic Policy Click here to know more about our Artistic Policy

 

Company History

temenos, a not-for-profit theatre company was incorporated in January 2003. Its roots reach back more than a year prior to that when Artistic Director Kate Bligh first brought together an ensemble of actors to train in a spectrum of techniques including the disciplines of Rudolph Laban, Uta Hagen and Jerzy Grotowski. This ensemble work still continues today.

Following a public launch in January 2003, temenos invited British director Barry Edwards and members of his company, Optik, to visit Canada for the first time and present a two week workshop hosted by Concordia University. The workshop took place in May 2003 and was followed by three public outcomes. The first was presented outdoors on the Esplanade of the Place des Arts and the two others were presented at the Black Watch Drill Hall with the added participation of a live video artist and 5 electro-acoustic musicians who, along with the 14 actors, improvised a spontaneous movement performance piece: xstasis.

In November 2003 temenos presented 18 performances of Crave by Sarah Kane at the Studio Theatre of the Monument-National. The critically acclaimed production was directed by Kate Bligh and featured Lucas Fehr, Carmen Grant, Sadia Mahmood and John Mounsteven in the parts of B, M, C and A. The performance also included original music by Tomas Phillips and John Phillips. This was the première of Crave and indeed of any of Sarah Kane’s plays in English in Quebec.

Through January-August 2004 the company held training sessions and workshops as part of the adaptation and preparation process for their bilingual production of Le Songe / Dreamplay. Rehearsals for this piece began in September and it opened for a 15-performance run at Théâtre La Chappelle on November 16 2004. This was the company's most ambitious project so far, for which they received the financial support for the production from the Canada Council for the Arts and the Concordia University Part-Time Faculty Association.

Since that time, the company has been in production hiatus, whilst artistic director Kate Bligh continued her work in the areas of new play development, her own writing, and research in Laban-Grotowski performer training.

temenos is pleased to announce its upcoming production of The Lieutenant of Inishmore by Martin McDonagh, to be presented in January 2011.

Productions temenos
productions temenos




  in English


TEMENOS - Mandat de la compagnie

Les productions temenos existe pour encourager l'excellence et la virtuosité dans tous les aspects de l'activité théâtrale au Québec, au Canada et au-delà, en mettant l'emphase sur le travail d'ensemble, en s'engageant à éduquer et à développer des artisans de théâtre consciencieux et par le biais du développement, de la création, de l'adaptation et de la production d'œuvres distinctes, contemporaines et culturellement diverses.

Historique de la compagnie

Les productions temenos, une compagnie de théâtre sans but lucratif, s'incorpore en janvier 2003. Elle a toutefois pris racine dès mai 2002 lorsque que la directrice artistique, Kate Bligh, commence à réunir un groupe de comédiens pour les former dans les techniques de Grotowski, Laban et Uta Hagen. Ce travail d'ensemble se poursuit encore aujourd'hui.

Suite au lancement de la compagnie en janvier 2003, temenos invite le metteur en scène britannique, Barry Edwards ainsi que des membres de sa compagnie d'avant-garde, Optik, à visiter le Canada pour la première fois et à présenter un atelier de deux semaines à l'Université Concordia. Cet atelier a lieu en mai 2003 et est suivi de trois présentations publiques. La première a lieu dehors sur l'esplanade de la Place des Arts et les deux suivantes au Black Watch avec la participation d'un vidéaste et de 5 musiciens électro-acoustiques qui, avec la vingtaine de comédiens, improvisent un morceau de théâtre en mouvement sous le titre Xstasis.

En novembre 2003, temenos présente Crave de Sarah Kane au Studio du Monument National pour 18 représentations. La pièce qui connaît un fort succès critique, est mis en scène par Kate Bligh, avec Lucas Fehr, Carmen Grant, Sadia Mahmood et John Mounsteven dans les rôles de B, M, C et A. Ce projet inclut aussi de la musique originale de Tomas et John Phillips. C'est la première en langue anglaise de Crave mais aussi d'une œuvre de Sarah Kane au Québec.

En juin 2006, temenos a reçu Barry Edwards pour poursuivre l'exploration entreprise avec Xstasis.

Grâce à Janvier-août 2004, l'entreprise a tenu des séances de formation et ateliers dans le cadre du processus d'adaptation et de préparation pour leur production bilingue de Le Songe / Dreamplay. Les répétitions de cette pièce a débuté en Septembre et a ouvert à une course de 15 performances au Théâtre La Chapelle sur 16 Novembre 2004. Ce fut le projet le plus ambitieux de l'entreprise à ce jour, pour lesquels ils ont reçu le soutien financier pour la production du Conseil des Arts du Canada et de l'Association de professeurs à temps partiel de l'université Concordia.

Depuis ce temps, la société a été en hiatus de production, tandis que le directeur artistique Kate Bligh a poursuivi ses travaux dans les domaines du développement des nouvelles pièces, sa propre écriture, et la recherche en matière de formation interprète Laban-Grotowski.

En 2010, temenos a commencé les préparatifs pour The Lieutenant of Inishmore, une pièce joyeuse mais macabre qui expose l'hypocrisie de terrorisme politique dans l'Irlande rurale.